Something on Wednesday.

Being a supporter of Goodwill Industries I was in there the other day poking around and picked up a Yashica J-P 35mm slr. That has no significance other than it reminded me of my earlier photographer career, one of my student cameras having been a Yashica.

I had an awe-full amount of fun as a pro photographer. That to me is probably the most important thing in art work, have fun doing it. It’s too much hard work to be doing for any other reason, right? That’s why this and previous posts were short, that’s where I was the past few days. Too busy in the pursuit of the muse, chained to the drawing table, loving every second (maybe not every second, but certainly the majority of the time spent).

I had lamented not knowing how to put my pictures in this blog when I had the blinding realization I don’t have a digital camera. Duh, talk about missing step zero!

Some random thoughts:

Opportunities are usually disguised as hard work, so most people don’t recognize them. – Ann Landers

Art and business may be strange bedfellows, but an artist must make room in her bed for both. – Eric Maisel

Artist’s quotes:

It has bothered me all my life that I do not paint like everybody else. – Henri Matisse

No artist is ahead of his time. He is his time. It is just that the others are behind the time. – Martha Graham

Talent and all that are really for the most part just baloney. Any schoolboy with a little aptitude can perhaps draw better than I; but what he lacks in most cases is that tenacious desire to make it reality, that obstinate gnashing of teeth and saying, “Although I know it can’t be done, I want to do it anyway.” – Maurits Cornelius Escher

Lord, let me always desire more then I think I can do. – Michelangelo

The essence of all art is to have pleasure in giving pleasure. – Mikhail Baryshnikov

Look, it’s my misery that I have to paint this kind of painting, it’s your misery that you have to love it, and the price of the misery is thirteen hundred and fifty dollars. – Mark Rothko

Artist quotes above found here.

Some random art links:

American Artist
www.artweek.com
The Artists Magazine
www.pasteljournal.com


Leave a Reply

