IDEAS 2

Continuing the topic of where do ideas come from – let’s look at what I call ‘conceptual’. The idea comes from an image or perhaps a story, I may want to illustrate a news item or something out of the antique in my liberal arts education, or re-interpreting a favorite artist. I’ll sketch it out, playing with the composition, often it will go through multiple versions. In composing I’m judging the weight/balance as well the fit and overall form. I use the colour wheel for fine tuning the palette.

When I am not dis-pleased with the composition I identify the elements; if furniture is period what period, if a hat what kind, dress/slacks, sneakers/boots. Then can I just draw it up out of experience or do I need a model. A piece currently on the drawing board is this, the boots a combination of two different styles, the cityscape/skyline from a photograph.

Where ‘associative’ is very free-form and flowing without a lot of “think” I consider ‘conceptual’ to be all about analysis and decision. The piece is constructed, the parts carefully chosen, crafted, hone, and arranged so that my visualization, my conception, comes to life.


Leave a Reply

«

